A brief history of Champions Trophy

Published: Thursday, September 17, 2009, 13:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

A brief history of Champions Trophy

As the cricket world eagerly wait for the ICC Champions Trophy, thatscricket takes a look at the journey of the event that second in importance only to the Cricket World Cup.

The ICC Champions Trophy was inaugurated as the ICC Knock Out tournament in 1998 and has been played every two years since, changing its name to the Champions Trophy in 2002. Originally, all ten full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) took part, together with ( two associate members. From 2009, this will be changed to the 8 highest-ranked ODI teams as placed 6 months out from the tournament.

ICC Champions Trophy Fixture

1998 ICC Knock Out tournament

ICC Knock Out tournament was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

South Africa beat West Indies in the final and became the champions.

Man of the Match in the finals - Jacques Kallis, Man of the Series- Jacques Kallis

2000 ICC Knock Out tournament

2000 ICC Knock Out tournament was held in Nairobi, Kenya.

New Zealand beat India by 4 wickets in the final and emerged as the champions.

Indian captain Ganguly scored a ton and Sachin made a useful 69 in the finals, but chris Cairns scored a brilliant century and steered New Zealand to victory.

Man of the match- Chris Cairns

2002 ICC Champions Trophy

The 2002 ICC Champions Trophy was held in Sri Lanka.

Rain played spoil spot in the finals between India and Sri Lanka. Consequently, the ICC Champions Trophy for the year 2002 was jointly awarded to India and Sri Lanka.

2004 ICC Champions Trophy

2004 ICC Champions Trophy was held in England.

West Indies emerged as the champions by defeating England by 2 wickets in the finals.

Player of the Tournament: Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)

2006 ICC Champions Trophy

The 2006 ICC Champions Trophy was held in India.

Australia beat West Indies by 8 wickets to win the Champions trophy for the first time.

Player of th tournament -Chris Gayle

2009-Champions Trophy

ICC Champions Trophy 2009 is scheduled to held from September 22 to October 5. Sri Lanka will clash with hosts South Africa in the opening match of the tournament. Wanderers in Johannesburg and Centurion in Pretoria will be the two venues for all 15 games with Centurion hosting the final on October 5. Eight teams are taking part in the tournament and they are divided into two pools.


Write Comments