Provident Bangalore wear KPL crown

Written by: Rajesh Krishna
Published: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 8:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Provident Bangalore wear KPL crown

Bangalore: After 13 days of mind-boggling action and a no-holds-barred feud among eight fierce franchisees, Bangalore Provident (Rural) pipped Belgavi Panthers by five wickets in the grand finale to lift the inaugural Mantri Karnataka Premier League at Chinnawamy stadium in Bangalore on September 23.

Chasing Belgavi Panther's modest total of 122 for seven, the Provident rode on useful contributions from their opening batsman Thilak Naidu ( 36 0ff 23) and mid-order batsman Sunil Kumar Jain (28) to overhaul the score in 19.2 overs.

Earlier opting to bat first, Panthers were off to a horrendous start as they lost two quick wickets. The inform batsman Arun Kumar was dismissed in the second over of the game by NC Aiyappa. He could only score six runs.

KPL-Full Reports-Points Table

Panthers fell into further trouble when  Manish Pandey was dismissed for paltry 5 . Panthers were struggling at 32/2 at this stage.

No 3 batsman KS Ponappa did not contribute much to the score as he was out for 9 runs. However, a good partnership between Vinayak Uthappa ( 45 0ff 30 ) and Suraj Sampath (14) guided Panthers to 122.

In response, Provident got off to bright start as they reached 48 for no loss in 7.3 overs. Eventhough Panthers tried everthing to dend the total, their target was too small to defend. Thilak Naidu top scored provident innings with 33 runs.

Brief Scores

Belgavi Panthers- 122/ 7 in 20 overs
Bangalore Provident- 125/5 in 19.2 overs
Provident Bangalore won by 5 wickets

The winners recived a purse of Rs 8 lakhs and runners earned Rs 4 lakh.

Amit Verma of Provident Bangalore was declared the man of the match in finals.

J Arukumar of Belgavi Panthers was adjudged as the man of the tournament and best batsman in the tournament.

David Johnson of Belgavi Panthers was declared the best bowler of the tournament.


Write Comments