Champiions Trophy: England wins toss, elect to bat

Published: Sunday, September 27, 2009, 18:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Centurion: England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa in 8th ODI of the Champions Trophy at SuperSport Park.


England wicketkeeper Matt Prior missed the game because of an illness as Ravi Bopara replaced him. Eoin Morgan was keeping wickets.

South Africa, on the other hand, were boosted by the return of Herschelle Gibbs who replaced Hashim Amla.

South Africa lost their opening fixture against Sri Lanka but beat New Zealand in their next game. They must beat England handsomely to qualify for the semi-finals.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Mark Boucher, Roelof van der Merwe, Dale Steyn, Wayne Parnell.

England: Andrew Strauss (capt), Joe Denly, Owais Shah, Ravi Bopara, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Graham Onions.


Write Comments