Australia wins toss, opt to bat

Published: Monday, September 28, 2009, 17:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia wins toss, opt to bat

Centurion: Australian captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat against India in the 9th ODI of the Champions Trophy at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

India faces a huge challenge as they take on defending champions Australia.

The 54-run loss to Pakistan on Saturday night has not just exposed the frailties of India's bowling and batting but has also put them in danger of crashing out of the event in case they lose on Monday.


India have made two changes in the team. Amit Mishra is in for Yusuf Pathan and Praveen Kumar replaces RP Singh. Australia have retained the same team.


India (Playing XI): Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(w/c), Suresh Raina, Amit Mishra, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma

Australia (Playing XI): Shane Watson, Tim Paine(w), Ricky Ponting(c), Mike Hussey, Callum Ferguson, Cameron White, Mitchell Johnson, James Hopes, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz, Peter Siddle


Write Comments