India won ODI team of the year

Published: Friday, October 2, 2009, 11:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India won ODI team of the year

Johannesburg: Team India bagged ICC's prestigious ODI Team of the Year Award.The announcement was made at the ICC Awards celebration in Johannesburg.

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the best ODI player of the award. The Indian skipper was also selected as the captain of the ICC Dream World Test Team and World ODI Team.

Indian opener Gautam Gambhir walked away the best Test player award.

However, Australia's Mitchel Johnson bagged most coveted Cricketer of the Year Award.

Three Indian players including batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar was included in ICC World Test Team of the Year:

The major awards:

ODI Team of the Year: India

ODI Player of the Year: Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India

Test Player of the Year: Gautam Gambhir of India

T20 Player of the Year: Tilakratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka

Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2009: Australia"s Peter Siddle

Team for Spirit of Cricket Award: New Zealand

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar of Pakistan

Associate Player of the Year: Ireland captain William Porterfield

ICC World Test Team of the Year:

Gautam Gambhir (India), Andrew Strauss (Eng), AB de Villiers (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Thilan Samraweera (Sri Lanka), Michael Clarke (Aus), MS Dhoni (India-captain), Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA) and Harbhajan Singh ( 12th man; India).

ICC World ODI Team of the Year:

Virender Sehwag (India), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Kevin Pietersen (England), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Yuvraj Singh (India), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), MS Dhoni (Ind; capt., wk), Andrew Flintoff (England), Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), Umar Gul (Pakistan). 12th man: Thilan Thushara (Sri Lanka).


Write Comments