Australia wins ICC Champions Trophy 2009

Published: Tuesday, October 6, 2009, 5:27 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia wins ICC Champions Trophy 2009

Centurion: A spectacular century by Shane Watson (105*) helped Australia to retain their Champions Trophy title after notching up a six-wicket win over New Zealand at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

Chasing a modest target of 201, Australia lost Ponting and Paine for just two runs on board. But, Watson teamed up with Cameron White and changed the course of the game with a partnership of 128. White made 62. Australia achieved the target in 45.2 overs.

Scorecard: Australia Vs New Zealand, Final

Watson hit an unbeaten 129-ball 105 which was studded with ten boundaries and four sixers.Watson needed seven to reach his hundred as did Australia to win the match. He hit Jeetan Patel over midwicket for two consecutive sixes to get his hundred and win the tournament.

Electing to bat first, New Zealand could manage just 200/9 in 50 overs. Guptill was the top scored Kiwis innings with with 40, while Broom made 37. Franklin contributed 33. For Australia, Hauritz took 3 wickets. Brett Lee took 2 wickets.

Man of the match: Shane Watson, Australia, 105 not out
* Golden Bat: Ricky Ponting, Australia, 288 runs
* Golden Ball: Wayne Parnell, South Africa, 11 wickets.
* Man of the Series: Ricky Ponting


Write Comments