Bangalore beat Delhi by 8 wickets

Published: Sunday, October 18, 2009, 7:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore beat Delhi by 8 wickets

Bangalore: Delhi Daredevils are out of the Champions League T20 tournament, after losing to Bangalore Royal Challengers by 8 wickets at Bangalore on Saturday. With this, all the three Indian IPL teams are out of the Champions League.

Putting to bat first in the do or die game, Delhi Daredevils could only manage 138/6 in 20 overs. Virender Sehwag top-scored with an explosive innings of 47 which he made from 29 balls with the help of four fours and a six. Dilshan contributed 20.

Champions League T20 Fixture | Points Table | Top10 (R/W)

Birthday boy Kumble, led the team Bangalore from the front and removed Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Karthik and Owais Shah while conceding 20 runs from his four overs in the League B match. Kumble was instrumental in putting brakes on Delhi Daredevils who were on to a rollicking start and were at 79 for two at the midway mark.

Chasing a victory target of 139, Bangalore lost Uthappa early and they received another setback when Manish Pandey was retired hurt.

However, Ross Taylor played a spectacular innings to steer Bangalore to to a 8 wicket victory . Taylor played brilliant knock of 65 off just 38 balls.

Dravid remained unbeaten on 32, while Virat Kohli remained unbeaten on 24 as Bangalore reached 139/2 in 15.1 overs.

Dirk Nannes was a shining light for the Daredevils, finishing with 2-19 off four overs.

Ross Taylor was voted "Man of the Match".

Bangalore were out of contention for a semifinal berth after Cape Cobras beat Victoria Bushrangers in another League B match earlier in the day.


Write Comments