Trinidad & Tobago vs Cape Cobras, 2nd semi final

Published: Thursday, October 22, 2009, 13:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: Trinidad and Tobago face their biggest challenge on Champions League when they take on in-form Cape Cobras in the battle for a final here on Thursday.

The batting strength of the Caribbean side has evoked awe but they are up against a team that also has some big-hitting willow-wielders, who are capable of mowing down any attack.

Trinidad and Tobago have never tasted defeat in the tournament, while Cape Cobras lost one in the league stage against Delhi Daredevils in their last League B match.

The Caribbeans found a new match winner in Adrian Barath in their last League A match against Diamond Eagles and together with the in-form William Perkins, it becomes a very destructive opening pair.

The bowlers were dreading the towering Kieron Pollard so far but now there is Navin Stewart as well who made a statement of his own when by smashing three sixes and two fours in the previous match. Trinidad and Tobago's middle-order is also impressive with Lendl Simmons, skipper Daren Ganga, Dwayne Bravo and Denesh Ramdin.

Faced with such an intimidating line-up, the key for the Cape Cobras bowlers would be to not let Caribbean batsman settle and get rid of them as early as possible. Rory Kleinveldt has done well so far and will have to take on the responsibility of containing the rampaging Caribbeans.

Like Trinidad, Cape Cobras' batting is their strength. All their main batters led by skipper Andrew Puttick, who remains the only centurion of the tournament so far, are in supreme form.

The way South Africa's new batting sensation J P Duminy has batted, Dwayne Bravo and company have quite a task at hand of restricting them. Henry Davids is also in fine touch and lends balance to the middle order of the South African side. Bravo is not just the most effective bowler for Trinidad, he is also the leading wicket taker in the tournament with 10 scalps.

Road to the semi final

Trinidad & Tobago

League A: Beat Eagles by 24 runs in Hyderbad
League A: Beat New South Wales by four wickets in Hyderbad
Group A: Beat Deccan by 3 runs in Hyderabad
Group A: Beat Somerset by 44 runs in Bangalore

Cape Cobras

League B: Lost to Daredevils by 30 runs in Delhi
League B: Beat Victory by eight wickets in Bangalore
Group C: Beat Otago by 54 runs in Hyderabad
Group C: Beat Royal Challengers by five wickets in Bangalore


Cape Cobras: Andrew Puttick (C), Derek Brand, Ryan Canning, Henry Davids, Jean-Paul Duminy, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Herschelle Gibbs, Claude Henderson, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, Justin Ontong, Vernon Philander, Francois Plaatjies, Stiaan van Zyl, Monde Zondeki, Charl Langeveldt;

Trinidad and Tobago: Daren Ganga (C), Samuel Badree, Navin Stewart, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Denesh Ramdin, Kieron Pollard, William Perkins, Sunil Narine, Dave Mohammed, Adrian Barath, Dwayne Bravo, Rayad Emrit, Sherwin Ganga.


Write Comments