Indian batsmen strike gold at the CEAT awards 2009

Published: Tuesday, December 1, 2009, 11:07 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Indians strike gold at the CEAT awards

Mumbai: Indian batsmen stole the show at the CEAT Cricket Rating International Awards 2009 at Mumbai. Opening batsman Gautam Gambhir was given the International cricketer and International batsman award. While his partner and Delhi mate was awarded the best One Day International batsman.

The CEAT Cricket Rating International Awards 2009 was a splendid evening, with the combo of entertainment and sports. Bollywood actor Mallika Sherawat performed her hit numbers at the event.

Sri Lankan team also attended the glittering ceremony.

Gambhir, the winner of CEAT International cricketer and International batsman award also received a cash prize of Rupees 5,00,000.

On the sidelines of the award ceremony, Gambhir said the awards are secondary for him, making runs for the team gives him utmost satisfaction.

"What satisfies me the most is that runs are pouring in because runs are more useful for the team rather than for the purpose of acquiring personal awards. It would be a pleasure for me if anyhow I can contribute for the team''s victory. If runs will pour in, awards will follow eventually," he said.

Sehwag who won the award for the best ODI batsman was all pleased and said scoring runs for the team comes as a responsibility to him

"I think it''s my job to score runs. I love to score run. I love to score big runs. Whenever I get an opportunity to score 100, I try to convert it to 150 or double 100 so that people will talk about my big hundred and I will look in this way that when I will complete 100, then I will think I have done a job for myself and now its my responsibility to convert in a big one for my team and my team can win match after that," said Sehwag.

India's Erapalli Prasanna was given the lifetime achievement award for his contribution to the game.

Sri Lankan batsman Thilan Samaraweera, who was injured severely in the Lahore terror attack, was given the Spirit of Cricket award, while his teammate Ajantha Mendis was named the ODI bowler of the year.

Team Australia won the CEAT International cricket team award and a cash prize of Rs 10,00,000. Australian fast bowler Mitchel Johnson was awarded the International test bowler award.


Write Comments