Aussies name unchanged squad for Sydney Test

Published: Thursday, December 31, 2009, 22:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Aussies name unchanged squad for Sydney

Melbourne: Australia have named an unchanged 12-man squad for the second cricket Test against Pakistan at the SCG starting on Sunday.

NSW spinner Steven Smith, who was called to join the 12-man squad in Melbourne as cover for Nathan Hauritz, has been left out.

According to the Sydney Morning Herald, there was speculation that Smith was in contention for a surprise Sydney Test debut, given the pitch regularly takes spin.

Victorian paceman Clint McKay was 12th man for the Boxing Day Test, which Australia won convincingly on Wednesday to go one-up in the three-Test series.

He will stay with the team for Sydney where he's again likely to carry the drinks.

Australian squad
: Ricky Ponting (capt), Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Mike Hussey, Simon Katich, Mitch Johnson, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Peter Siddle, Shane Watson (12th man TBA).

Read more about: australia, sydney, melbourne, squad
Write Comments