It's Karnatka vs Mumbai in Ranji Trophy finals

Published: Thursday, January 7, 2010, 11:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

It's Karnatka vs Mumbai in Ranji finals

Mumbai: Defending champions Mumbai and Karnataka will clash in the Ranji Trophy final in Mysore from Jan 11-15.

Mumbai have won Ranji Trophy 38 times and they are playing the final for the 43rd time. Karnataka have won the Ranji Trophy championship six times. They last won the tournament in 1998-99 season.

Karnataka and Mumbai have met twice before in the finals and the head-to-head record stands at 1-1. Karnataka beat Mumbai in 1982-83 while the 38-time champions emerged victorious in 1974-75

Both the teams qualified for the final on the basis of their first innings lead against Delhi and Uttar Pradesh respectively.

After scoring 500 in the first innings, Mumbai dismissed Delhi for 211 and took a first innings lead of 289 runs.

Delhi struck back in the second knock, bowling out Mumbai for 187 today. Delhi spinners Vikas Mishra (6-49) and Aditya Jain (4-43) were the wicket-takers.

Chasing 477 to win, Delhi reached 160 for four on the fourth and final day.

In Bangalore, Karnataka took a strong grip over the match against Uttar Pradesh after scoring a massive 575/7 declared in the first innings and bowling out the visitors for 208 to gain a 367-run first innings lead. Skipper Rahul Dravid anchored Karnataka's innings with an unbeaten 209.

Resuming at overnight 43 for three, Karnataka declared their second innings at 247 for eight with C.M. Gautam scoring an unbeaten century. R.P. Singh took four for 47 while Piyush Chawla took three 72.

Set a target of 615 runs, Uttar Pradesh reached 22 for one in 12 overs as the match ended in a draw.

thatscricket with inputs from Agencies

Read more about: mumbai, karnataka, ranji trophy, mysore
Write Comments