India vs Sri Lanka - Idea Cup Finals

Published: Wednesday, January 13, 2010, 10:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India vs Sri Lanka - Idea Cup Finals

Mirpur: Sub continent cricket giants India and Sri Lanka will clash in the finals of Idea cup at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on Wednesday.

The last time these two teams met in a tournament final, Sachin Tendulkar produced a match-winning century that saw India win with relative ease.

After a poor start to the tournament, Indian team looks to have gathered some momentum heading into the finals. India lost their opening match of the tri-series against Lanka but bounced back strongly with three thumping wins — two against Bangladesh and one against Kumar Sangakkara and his men — to be high on confidence as they go into the summit showdown.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni's side had a successful ODI record last year winning four series. They would be eager to pocket the ongoing tri-series as well, which will come as a morale booster not only going into the Test series against Bangladesh starting in Chittagong on January 17 but also for the tough season ahead.

India will have to rely largely on their batting to win them this final, with Virat Kohli leading the way. The youngster is in the form of his life, and looks to have the hunger for runs that is so essential to not losing your way in international cricket after a couple of good performances.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, would be desperate to record their first series win against India in nearly two years. The islanders have lost two bilateral series and the final of a tournament at home.Sri Lanka will rely heavily on Dilshan and Sangakkara to come good.

The toss will once again play a crucial role as the last 11 matches at the venue have been won by teams batting second.


India: M S Dhoni (Captain), Virender Sehwag (Vice-Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Yuvraj Singh, Sudeep Tyagi, Dinesh Karthik, S Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Amit Mishra.

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (C), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thissara Perera, Malinga Bandara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Suraj Randiv, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welegedara, Mahela Udwatte, Dinesh Chandimal.


Write Comments