Pollard, Afridi emerge IPL III auction favourites

Published: Tuesday, January 19, 2010, 8:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pollard, Afridi emerge IPL favourites


Did Afridi's behavior cause his elimination?

Eoin Morgan goes to Bangalore Royal Challengers for $220,000.

Kemar Roach, the West-Indies fast bowler, has been sold to Deccan Chargers for $720,000.

No takers for former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif

Shane Bond goes to Kolkata Knight Riders for $ 750,000

Tie-breaker for Shane Bond

Delhi Daredevils wins Wayne parnell with an amount of $610,000.

Brand Haddin is up next at a base price of $250,000. No takers

Mumbai Indians gets Kieron Pollard

Almost all the teams bid fervently for him. Mumbai, Bangalore, Punjab and Kolkata were tied at the maximum limit of USD 750,000 as the 4 franchises went into the silent tie-breaker.

Know about tie-breaker

If two or more franchises bid $750,000 for a player, each of the franchises then submits a sealed bid with no upper limit. The difference between the $750,000 and the sealed bid goes to the IPL, while the player only stands to make $750,000.

Keiron Pollard is the second name in Round 1 a base price of USD 200,000.

Shahid Afridi is the first name in Round One with a base price of USD 250,000. Believe it or not, Afridi is not picked up.

The IPL auction is all set to begin and we'll have all the updates for you.

66 overseas players and 1 Indian will go under the hammer today with the IPL auction set to begin at 12:00 PM (IST) in Mumbai today.

Pollard, Afridi emerge IPL III auction favourites

Sydney: West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard and his Pakistani counterpart Shahid Afridi have emerged as the favourites for recruitment in the Indian Premier League season three auction, which takes place Tuesday evening.

According to the Sydney Morning Herald, the top ten IPL III buys are as follows:

1.Kieron Pollard (West Indies)

2.Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

3.Umar Akmal (Pakistan)

4.Wayne Parnell (South Africa)

5.Umar Gul (Pakistan)

6.Eoin Morgan (England)

7.Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

8.Mohammad Aamer (Pakistan)

9.Phillip Hughes (Australia)

10.Graeme Swann (England)


Write Comments