Shakib opts to bat first in the T20 opener

Published: Wednesday, February 3, 2010, 11:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Toss smiles on Shakib, opts to bat first

Hamilton: Vettori stars as New Zealand thrash Bangladesh to win their Twenty20 cricket international by 10 wickets in Hamilton on Wednesday night.

Toss Report

Hamilton: Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand in the T20 opener here at Seddon Park, Hamilton on Wednesday.

Daryl Tuffey says New Zealand will be looking for a clean sweep in all forms of the game against Bangladesh.

While Bangladesh will be without key bowler Mashrafe Mortaza, who was struck down with a fever prior to the team's departure.

Bangladesh Vs New Zealand - Twenty20 - Scorecard

Left-handed opener Tamim Iqbal and wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim both hit maiden Test tons, while fast bowler Shahadat Hossain and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan picked up five-wicket hauls during the Test and one-day tri-series.

The visitors will play one Twenty20, three one-day internationals and a Test match during the next three weeks.


New Zealand: BB McCullum (w), PJ Ingram, MJ Guptill, LRPL Taylor, JDP Oram, DL Vettori (c), GJ Hopkins, JEC Franklin, NL McCullum, TG Southee, DR Tuffey

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Naeem Islam, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Shahadat Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain


Write Comments