Security up ahead of first ODI in Jaipur

Published: Sunday, February 21, 2010, 10:48 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Security up ahead of first ODI in Jaipur

Jaipur: South Africa captain Jacques Kallis won the toss and elected to field against India in the first One-Day International at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur, on Sunday.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Indian team will be missing the service of senior players Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan, who are all suffering from injuries.

Gambhir has been ruled out of the series due to a groin injury, Yuvraj has not recovered from the wrist injury that he sustained in Bangladesh, while Zaheer suffered a muscle strain in the second Test against South Africa at Eden Gardens.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has reportedly ruled himself unavailable to attend his sister''s wedding.

India vs South Africa, 1st ODI - Scorecard

All-rounders Yusuf Pathan and Abhishek Nayar have been recalled to be part of the 15-man team for the first two ODIs.

Apart from the duo, fast bowler Praveen Kumar and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin have also been included in the squad.

Meanwhile, South Africa will miss regular captain Graeme Smith, who has been ruled out due to a fractured finger.

In-form batsman Hashim Amla, who averaged an incredible 490 in the two-Test series, will replace Smith, and Jacques Kallis will lead the side.

Smith, who picked up the injury in fielding practice before the second Test, will return home with Test specialists Ashwell Prince, Paul Harris and Ryan McLaren.

Joining the remaining Test players in the squad for the ODIs are batsmen Loots Bosman and Herschelle Gibbs, fast bowler Charl Langeveldt, all-rounder Albie Morkel and left-arm spinner Roelof van der Merwe.

The two teams are up for another fight, similar to their fight for top spot in the Test series. The focus will now shift to the No. 2 spot in ODIs, where current No. 2 team India will try to retain their ranking to third-placed South Africa.

The second game will be played in Gwalior on February 24, and the third in Ahmedabad on February 27.


India Team: MS Dhoni (c), R Ashwin, RA Jadeja, KD Karthik, V Kohli, P Kumar, A Mishra, AM Nayar, A Nehra, YK Pathan, SK Raina

South Africa Team: JH Kallis (c), HM Amla, LL Bosman, J Botha, MV Boucher (w), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, HH Gibbs, CK Langeveldt, JA Morkel, M Morkel


Write Comments