Marsh to miss one-day series in New Zealand

Published: Sunday, February 28, 2010, 16:21 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Marsh to miss one-day series in Kiwis

Sydney: Opening batsman Shaun Marsh will miss Australia's one-day international series in New Zealand because of ongoing back problems, Cricket Australia said on Sunday.

Australia's two-match Twenty20 series against the Black Caps concludes on Sunday in Christchurch with a five-game ODI series starting in Napier on Wednesday.

Marsh, 26, injured his back during the warm-up for the third ODI against the West Indies in Sydney on February 12, reports the Sydney Morning Herald.

His fellow West Australian Mike Hussey took Marsh''s place in the T20 squad.

The injury to Marsh leaves Australia with only 13 players in their squad for the Chappell-Hadlee Series, although T20 specialist opener David Warner is in excellent form and must be a chance to win a recall to the ODI squad.

Warner reached his half-century from 18 balls on his way to 67 runs from 29 deliveries against West Indies in a T20 match in Sydney on February 23.

It was the fastest 50 in a T20 match by an Australian.

The 23-year-old NSW left-hander's T20 scores for Australia this summer have been 24 against Pakistan, 49 and 67 against the Windies and 19 from 10 balls against New Zealand on Friday in Wellington.

Vice-captain Michael Clarke and wicketkeeper Brad Haddin are also candidates to open the batting with Shane Watson in the ODI series.

Members of the ODI squad not participating in the T20 series are due to arrive in Napier on Sunday. They include Test and ODI skipper Ricky Ponting, Doug Bollinger, James Hopes, Clint McKay and Adam Voges.

T20 squad members Dirk Nannes, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, Travis Birt, Daniel Christian and David Hussey are scheduled to return to Australia after Sunday''s second T20 clash.

Australia's ODI squad: Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke (v-capt), Doug Bollinger, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ryan Harris, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.


Write Comments