No England club for CL T20 2010

Published: Monday, May 24, 2010, 15:03 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

CL T20 to have lesser teams

London: The champion's league T20 this will will feature 10 teams as compared to 12 teams last year after the England cricket board(ECB) said the league date clashed with English dometic season. The tournament have a total number of 23 matches (the same number as 2009), with the format, schedule and venues to be decided in the coming weeks.

Already nine teams has been qualified and confirmed to participate in the Champion's League scheduled to be held in South Africa. The West Indian representative will be known once their domestic Twenty20 competition ends in July. Trinidad & Tobago represented the Caribbean in 2009 and reached the final, which they lost to New South Wales.

There is no team from Pakistan as PCB chairman Ejaz Butt ruled out participation following the IPL auction where no pakistan players attracted any bids.

The teams that have already qualified for the 2010 CLT20 are: Chennai Super Kings (India), Mumbai Indians (India), Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), Victorian Bushrangers (Australia), South Australian Redbacks (Australia), Warriors (South Africa), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Central Stags (New Zealand) and Wayamba Elevens (Sri Lanka).

Mr N Srinivasan, secretary, Board of Control for Cricket in India, said: "The fact that only a third of last year's field have re-qualified to play for the US$2.5 million first prize demonstrates the evenness of Twenty20 competitions around the world and the desperation of teams to compete at the world's most prestigious domestic event."


Write Comments