Younis, Malik & 'Quickie Akhtar in Pak probables

Published: Wednesday, May 26, 2010, 13:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

'Quickie Akhtar' in Pak probables

Lahore, May 26: Former Pakistan captains Younis Khan and Shoaib Malik who had been banned by the PCB and fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar have been included in the PCB's list of 35 probables for the Asia Cup.

Announcing the probables for the forthcoming Asia Cup here, PCB chairman Ijaz Butt also declared that T20 skipper Shahid Afridi would be leading the side in the quadrangular one-day tournament, which would be held in Sri Lanka from June 15-24, and would also captain the squad in the 'home" Test series in England.

Afridi was named the skipper of Test side although he has not played the five-day format of the game for the last four years.

Butt said that inclusion of Younis and Malik, both of whom are serving a year ban, in the final team for the upcoming assignments, would depend upon the decision of the appeal tribunal, which is hearing their case.

“Both Younis and Malik"s inclusions are subject to the outcome of their appeals.We have promised to review the fines and bans on six of our top players, so the names of Younis and Malik will only be included in the final squad after a decision on their appeals," The Daily Times quoted Butt, as saying.

Afridi said that he had been trying to persuade Mohammad Yousuf to to come back into the Pakistan side but he has already announced announcement after his ban after the conclusion of Pakistan-Australia series down under. As such his name was not included in the probables.

“I talked to him on telephone yesterday and requested him to reconsider his retirement, but he refused to do so. I still believe Yousuf can play international cricket for two to three more years," Afridi said, adding that Yousuf has taken up a coaching job in Canada according to ANI reports.

Probables for Asia Cup:

Shahid Afridi (captain), Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Khurram Manzoor, Shahzaib Hasan, Azhar Ali, Azeem Ghumman, Younus Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Faisal Iqbal, Fawad Alam, Hasan Raza, Azhar Shafiq, Umar Amin, Aamir Sajjad, Mohammad Hafeez, Abdul Razzaq, Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Aamir, Mohammad Sami, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Tanveer Ahmed, Ejaz Cheema, Danish Kaneria, Abdul Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Zulfiqar Babar, Kamran Akmal, Zulqarnain Haider


Write Comments