Confident Zimbabwe to take on the Lankans

Published: Tuesday, June 1, 2010, 12:25 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Zimbabwe looking to upset Lanka

Queens Sports Club: Confident after a seven-wicket victory the Zimbabwe cricket team are ready to take on Sri Lanka who are rather low on confidence after they suffered defeat over the hands of Indians.

The African team who are the hosts for the tri-series stunned India with a six-wicket triumph while the Lankans suffered a seven-wicket loss to India on Sunday.

While the home team chased well against the Indians, skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan and his batting team struggled against the Indians. Without regular stars like Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Sanath Jayasuriya, Sri Lanka's batting looked brittle against India. The team lacked that hunger to perform against the Indians, the pitch went on improving as the innings progressed and surely it was advantage for India but the way Indians won in a comprehensive manner was quite suprising with the Lankan bowling bowing out without much fight.

In the batting front they have captain Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera and Upul Tharanga who have to click today if they have to stop further embarassment.

Though they had a decent pace attack with the likes of Dilhara Fernando and Nuwan Kulasekara they were not able to trouble the Indian batsmen much. They have to strike for the Lankans if they are to come out with a win against the home team.

On the other hand the Zimbabwe bowling looks high on confidence especially the slow bowlers like Ray Price and Prosper Utseya who can manage to bowl quick spells and bowl out during the powerplay.

Their batsmen are in good form as well with Taylor making a match winning half century against India, while debutant Craig Ervine and rest of the batting line up made important contributions to the successful chase against the Indians.


Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Thissira Perera.

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (capt), Andy Blignaut, Chamu Chibhabha, Charles Coventry, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Greg Lamb, Hamilton Masakadza, Chris Mpofu, Ray Price, Ed Rainsford, Vusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya.


Write Comments