Chigumbara wins the toss; puts India to bat first

Published: Wednesday, June 2, 2010, 12:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Zim wins the Toss; India to bat first

Harare: Chigumbara has won the toss for Zimbabwe and have elected to bowl first.

India are playing with the same team which won against Sri Lanka while the home team has made one change with Tatenda Taibu coming in for pacer Chris Mpofu.

The pitch seems to be seamer friendly and whosoever won the toss would have liked to ball first. The experts feel the pitch might feel uneven and for the Indians the top order has to deliver to set a good score. It is not easy to get runs and it is going to be hard day for both the teams.

For the Zimbabwean side it is very important that they bowl consistently on a pitch which offers good support and restrict the Indian batsmen and don't let them run away with the match.

Raina, however is confident about his batting strength and is hopeful the likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kholi will continue on with their good form.

A very important match for both the teams to get a win and get a nod ahead to qualify for the finals.


India will be on a lookout to avenge their defeat against Zimbabwe after failing miserably to defend a fairly good total in the opening match of the tri-series.

The Indians started with a hiccup to say losing early wickets against the home team before Rohit Sharma pulled India back in the contest in the first ODI.The Indians were really poor on field and the bowlers lacked venom in their deliveries to stop the Zimbabwean batsmen and allowed the home team to play with free will.

But credit goes to Zimbabwean team especially batting to make full use of the inexperience attack India had and put their minds and will to overcome India in the opening match.

However, the Indians did bounce back all guns blazing in their second ODI against the Sri Lankans winning the game comfortably by seven-wickets after captain Raina tossed the Lankans to bat first. The pitch played well for the Indians and it got better and better as the match progressed. The Indian bowlers bowled well in tandum specially the slow bowlers, restricting the Lankans to total which was very gettable given the conditions and the Indian batting line up and they did manage to overcome the Sri Lankan score quite easily.

Rohit Sharma once again came out good with his impeccable technique and big shots every now and then. He looks to be on sublime form, a treat for every cricket fans. The guy from mumbai will be hoping to carry on with his good form against the Zimbabweans in the next match.

Raina"s ploy of going in with an extra spinner worked in his favour in the last game and with the Zimbabweans struggling to cope up with Sri Lankan slow bowlers. Raina will be surely thinking about keeping the winning combination going.
Dinda is likely to retain his place in the starting XI, while the team management would think of giving a chance to young pacer Abhimanyu Mithun, who has been flown in to replace injured Vinay Kumar.


Zimbabwe got off to a flying start as already mentioned above winning their first match against the Indians, managing to chase down a fairly good Indian total. The team were excellent especially on their ground fielding and they seem to have an upper-hand in that department compared to both India and Sri Lanka.

Their batting looked perfect in the first match against the Indians with everyone contributing but they struggled in their second outing against the Sri Lankans with just Mazakadza providing some resilience. The line up failed to cope up with the Sri Lankan spinners and lost wickets consistently. The team has always been critiqued for being inconsistent in the international arena.

The Zimbabwe team has to fight out against all odds and hope India make mistakes again. The match looks tough for the home side especially after losing against the Sri Lankan side who are back in the frame for the remaining tri-series.


Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (wk), Greg Lamb, Graig Ervine, Charles Coventry, Elton Chigumbura (capt), Andy Blignaut, Tatenda Taibu, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya, Ray Price

India: Dinesh Karthik (wk), Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina (capt), Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav


Write Comments