Team India lose to Zimbabwe by 7 wickets

Published: Thursday, June 3, 2010, 14:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Team India lose to Zimbabwe by 7 wickets

Harare: Team India continued its losing spree against Zimbabwe, as it suffered a humiliating seven-wicket defeat at the hands of the host country in a tri-series one-dayer played at the Harare Sports Club here on Thursday.

Put into bat first, India managed a meager 194 for nine with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja top scoring with 51.

Team Zimbabwe chased down the target of 195 runs with seventy balls to spare. Opening batsman Brendan Taylor scored 74 of 90 balls in the successful run chase.

Innings Report:

India have managed to notch up a meager score of 194 after Zimbabwe put India to bat first in a pitch that looked highly favorable for bowlers.

Ravindra Jadeja scored a valiant 51 and helped India reach near about 200 mark. Earlier, India had lost half their side including Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Virat Kholi and Rohit Sharma within 28th over.

Raina was found inches short of his crease through Blignaut who managed to run him out. Raina"s dismissal was followed by another wicket in the form of Rohit Sharma. Sharma again, fell victim to a dreadful mix up and ran himself out with India losing five top batsmen before the team scorecard crossed 100 runs mark.

Then Yousuf Pathan and Amit Mishra didn't last long either.

At that point of struggle looked like they would be bowled out but Jadeja played it smart and struck a useful partnership with Ashok Dinda to hold the Zimbabwean fielding team from sweeping out the tail-enders.

When Dinda stepped on the crease India were hovering at 128 for seven wickets in the 38th over.

Zimbabwe kept it tight throughout the innings and never let the pressure off the Indian batsmen with their sharp fielding.

Gregory lamb picked up 3 wickets in his quota of 10 overs while Blignaut was the most economical bowler at the start and continued to be economical towards the dept overs. All the other bowlers had a decent bowling spell managing to keep India under 200 runs mark.

Earlier, India had lost both their openers and their number three batsmen and had got off to a slow start.

Both the openers Murali Vijay and Dinesh Karthik showed a cautious approach in the game in a pitch that showed good movement for the bowlers. Andy Blignaut opening the attack for the home side kept it tight with off-spinner Ray Price supporting him well at the other end.

However, India lost their first wicket soon after with Murali Vijay being stumped by Taibu off the bowling of Greg Lamb and Dinesh Karthik following him soon with Lamb getting his second scalp in the 17th and 19th over respectively. After a brief innings of 18 Virat Kholi coming at No 3 lost his wicket as well. He was caught by Tatenda Taibu off the bowling of Prosper Utseya.

Murali Vijay made 21 off 56 balls and Karthik made 33 off 47 balls with four boundaries in his innings.

The home team needs 195 runs to win.


Write Comments