India lose Sehwag early: Gambhir, Kholi batting

Published: Wednesday, June 16, 2010, 15:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Asia Cup 2010: India Vrs Bangladesh

Dambulla:Chasing a modest target of 167, India have lost their opening batsmen Virender Sehwag as play has stopped seven minutes ahead of schedule time because of bad light at Dambulla.

Virender started off with his typical flashy up and over shot on the off side but fell soon to Mashrafe Mortaza while trying to flash once again on the off side, only to edge it to the wicket keeper.

Meanwhile, Virat Kholi has joined Gautam Gambhir and India are strongly placed at 58 for 1 wicket with Gambhir batting at 25 not out and Kholi at 7 not out in 9.4 overs.

First innings

In the first innings Bangladesh batting had fell apart like a house of cards as Virendra Sehwag cleaned up the Bangladesh tail picking up three wickets in one over to restrict the Bangladesh total to 167 allout.

Sehwag bowled an outstanding spell to get four wickets as the tailenders looked clueless to his off-spinners, after Mahmudullah and Mushfiqar Rahim had offered some resistance in the Bangladesh mid-innings

Earlier at the start of play Praveen Kumar got the wicket of Tanim Iqbal in his second over but after Iqbal had hit a cameo 22 off just 12 balls including one six in his brief innings.

However his opening partner, Imrul Kayes played a breezy innings to take the Tigers off to a decent start. The left-hander was cutting the ball nicely and scoring runs at more than 100 per cent strike rate. On the other side Mohammad Ashraful got off to a slow start and was trying to hand over the strike to Kayes as he was timing the ball confidently.

Just as Ashraful was looking good after hitting a boundary, Nehra got him out in the very next ball against the run of play. Ashraful tried for an ambitious shot but he just managed to baloon the ball to deep fine leg and was caught near the boundary line by Praveen Kumar.

The partnership of 46 at a good pace was broken and Bangladesh were 81 for the loss of two wickets.

And soon Ashish Nehra got the another important scalp of Kayes as he was trying to pull him out for a boundary but instead found Sehwag in the infield. And the Bangladesh score was 88 for the loss of three wickets.

Captain Shakib Al Hasan was the next batsmen to be dismissed as Harbhajan in his first over bowled a supberb arm ball to decieve the batsmen and clean bowled Hasan. Bangladesh team was losing wickets at regular intervals and struggling at 100 for the loss of 4 wickets at the 17th over.

But Mushfiqir Rahim put up a good fight with the following batsmen Mahmudullah showed a strong head and managed to pull Bangladesh out from a tricky situation.

The duo picked up singles and two's and hit the odd boundaries to slowly build a platform once again raising 50 runs partnership and on the process crossing the 150 run mark for Bangladesh.

Nothing flashy, the partnership was a solid one helping the Bangladesh to get back into the match.

Just as the partnership was looking promising and good, Jadeja put the brakes for India providing the breakthough, scalping Mahmudullah's wicket caught by Dhoni.
Mahmudullah's gritty innings came to an end and Bangladesh were placed at 155 for the loss of five wickets.

Rahim soon fell to Sehwag as Bangladesh batting fell apart. Rohit Sharma then chipped in with one more wicket for the Indians.
Then Sehwag followed up with three wickets in 5 balls to finish off the Bangladesh tail. He bowled 2.5 overs and gave away just 6 runs.

Earlier in the toss, Bangladesh Captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bat first India in their opening Asia Cup encounter at Dambulla.

Brief Overview

India with their senior players coming together once again would want to end their 15 year jinx without Asia Cup with a solid start against the Tigers.
After their humiliating early exit from the T20 World Cup, they would be on a rebuilding phase to bring their form back ahead of the World Cup next year.

Bangladesh on the otherhand will be looking to upset the Indians with their young players like Tanim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes. The Tigers would also be looking to make a strong impression ahead of the World Cup.


India (Playing XI): Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni(w/c), Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shafiul Islam, Naeem Islam, Syed Rasel.


Read more about: asia cup 2010, bangladesh, dambulla
Write Comments