Paranavitana, Sangakkara dominate the day

Published: Monday, July 26, 2010, 11:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lanka finish off with 312/2 at day 1

Colombo: Paranavitana and Sangakkara both hit a century each to help Islanders finish at a score of 312/2 at the conclusion of first day's play in the second Test match between Sri Lanka and India at Colombo.

The duo put on a superb partnership of 174 for the second wicket as the Indian bowlers had no answer to their batting display. Both Paranavitana(100) and Sangakkara(130*) reached their respective hundred in the final session of play. Sangakkara incidentally scored his 23 hundred in his career and is still batting as play was stopped.

Parnavitana who scored a century in the first Test match scored his second century of the series but was dismissed by Ishant Sharma as soon as he attained the triple figure mark. Parnavitana was out bowled off the bowling of Sharma while trying to cut the ball, just managing to find the inside edge onto his stumps.

The duo put together 107 runs in the post lunch session before play was stopped for tea.

Jayawardene has joined Sangakkara and will continue the innings tomorrow.

The Indian bowlers struggled big time and it seems like the hosts are going to post a huge score as the wicket has eased out more for batting.

Scorecard for Sri Lanka Vs India Second Test Match

Earlier in the first session of play, Dilshan's quickfire half century and Paranavitana's solid knock had given Sri Lanka a solid start as the hosts scored128/1 at the first session of play.

Paranavitana at the other end had started off cautiously and managed to remain unbeaten 45 off 91 balls with captian Kumar Sangakkara at the other end when play was stopped for lunch.

Sri Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara had won the toss and elected to bat first.

Murali Vijay and Suresh Raina are playing in place of Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj who are out due to injury. India are trailing the series by 0-1.

For the home team Mendis and Fernanado are playing in place of retired Muralitharan and injured Lasith Malinga.

Sri Lanka have won the last two Tests against India at this venue by an innings - in 2001 and 2008. India's only win at this venue was by 235 runs in 1993.


India (Playing XI): Virender Sehwag, Murali Vijay, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Abhimanyu Mithun

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Tharanga Paranavitana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara(c), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene(w), Dammika Prasad, Dilhara Fernando, Ajantha Mendis, Suraj Randiv


Write Comments