India win by 5 wkts, Laxman hits a ton

Published: Saturday, August 7, 2010, 11:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

 Laxman, Raina coasts India home

Colombo: V V S Laxman crafted a blinder of an innings to score his 16th Test century to help India win by 5 wickets and on the process square the series in the final day of the final Test match at the P Sara Oval.

Laxman(103*) was pure class, finding gaps with ease and anchored the Indian innings. Suresh Raina who joined him after Tendulkar's fall hit a six to finish off the match in style. Raina positive as always finished with unbeaten 41 off 45 balls to support Laxman at the other end.

Earlier, Sachin Tendulkar and V V S Laxman had put India in a commanding position with a solid 109-run partnership.

Randhiv dismissed Tendulkar to claim his fifth wicket of the innings. A sharp catch by the wicketkeeper on the leg side to break the partnership.

Tendulkar had reached his 56th Test half century just before lunch and Laxman at the other end had complimented him well. The duo had managed to keep the Sri Lankan bowlers at bay after early fall of nightwatchman Ishant Sharma.

The partnership had taken India nearer to the victory margin as India required 112 more runs to with six wickets remaining with two sessions left to play.

Nightwatchman Ishant was dismissed this morning off the bowling of Randhiv who got his fourth wicket of the innings.

Other than Randhiv and Malinga, rest of the Sri Lankan bowlers were disappointing. The Sri Lankans gave away 22 extra runs in the innings.

India vs Sri Lanka, 3rd Test - Scorecard

Off spinner Randhiv yesterday had given the hosts an encouraging start as he picked up three top Indian batsmen ahead of the final day as India began their chase.

With this win India managed to tie the series 1-1.

V V S Laxman was deservedly handed the man of the match trophy and Virender Sehwag who had an excellent performance with both bat and the ball throughout the series was presented the man of the series award.


Write Comments