India restrict Black caps to 288

Published: Tuesday, August 10, 2010, 14:33 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India need 289 runs to win

Dambulla: New Zealand side recorded their highest ever score of 288 all out in Sri Lanka to set a challenging target for the Indians who will be coming out to bat under lights in the tri-series opener in Dambulla.

Pragyan Ohja had finally got the breakthrough for India after a record partnership between Ross Taylor and Scott Styris which helped the Black caps recover after poor start for the Kiwis.

Under pressure, captain Ross Taylor had lead the Kiwi fight back along with Scott Styris(89) who had played a gem of an innings as they put together a 190 run fourth wicket stand to keep the Indian bowlers at bay. Both of them got one chance each early as Dhoni missed a stumping chance while Styris was batting on 16 and then later Taylor got a chance as well as he was dropped by Raina while on 46.

But other than that single let off each, both looked rock solid and picked up boundaries regularly before Styris was finally bowled by Pragyan Ohja in the 39th over.

India vs New Zealand, Tri-series - Scorecard

Incoming batsmen, Jacob Oram didn't last long as he was dismissed by Ashish Nehra. Then he followed it up with the prized wicket of Ross Taylor(95) lbw. Neha later on went on to claim his fourth wicket of the match, picked up the wicket of Daryl Tuffey.

Then Elliot(7) coming in at No 7 was smartly stumped by Dhoni off the bowling of Yuvraj Singh.

Praveen Kumar got Hopkins in the 48th over to pick up his third wicket of the match as Hopkins was trying to go for a big hit, just managing to get caught in the boundary. Hopkin's scalp was incidentally Kumar's 50th scalp in his ODI career.

Kyle Milis was the last man to be dismissed as New Zealand were bowled out in the 49th over. Raina got a direct hit to find Milis short of his crease after a big misunderstanding between the last pair.

Earlier, the Indian pacers had struck early to put the Black caps on the backfoot with three wickets. Praveen Kumar had made the first breakthrough for India dismissing Martin Guptil and then picked up the wicket of debutant Williamson who was dismissed for a duck.

Ashish Nehra also picked up the wicket of Peter Ingram.

Earlier, New Zealand captain Ross Taylor had won the toss and elected to bat first in the tri-series opener in Dambulla.


Write Comments