Impressive Indian bowlers restrict SL to 170

Published: Monday, August 16, 2010, 14:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sri Lanka all out for 170

Dambulla: Indian bowlers managed to keep a good spell bowling throughout the match to restrict Sri Lanka to 170 all out in the third match of the tri-series in Dambulla.

Pacer Praveen Kumar had started off with a bang opening the bowling for India as he struck in his very first delivery to dismiss Upal Tharanga.

Incoming batsman Kumar Sangakkara didn't last long either as he ballooned a delivery from Ashish Nehra only to be caught by Pragyan Ohja coming in from deep square leg. He was trying to play an extravagant shot but just managed to edge it.

Then Kumar got his second wicket to dismiss Mahela Jayawardene(4) lbw. Then Ishant Sharma joined the party to pick up the fourth wicket of Thilan Samaraweera not letting any chance for the Sri Lankans to settle down.

Rain had interrupted India's good show on the field for a while as the hosts were struggling at 82-5 after 22 overs.

Opener Dilshan(45) who had offered stiff resistance since play kicked-off was the final man to be dismissed before rain interrupted play. Dilshan was the only man who had battled hard and shown some good form with the bat, trying to keep the hosts in contest before he was dismissed off the bowling of spinner Pragyan Ohja, caught by Rohit Sharma.

As soon as play resumed Jadeja dismissed all-rounder Angelo Mathews, trapping him leg before wicket and then got his second wicket to bowl Kapugedera who was looking to come down the track, only to have his wicket dislodged by the spinner.

Spinner Ravindra Jadeja got two scalps to further Sri Lankan batting misery just after play had resumed after rain.

Just as it looked like the Sri Lankans would fall for a cheap score Kulasekara and Suraj Randhiv chipped in with a useful partnership of 39 runs for the eight wicket before the partnership was broken by Ishant Sharma who got his second scalp of the match. Kulasekara scored 22 useful runs before edging one behind the wicket to Dhoni off Ishant Sharma.

Then spinner Ohja dimissed Lasith Malinga who was trying to charge the spinner, only to be stumped by wicketkeeper Dhoni behind the wicket.

Ohja then picked up the final Sri Lankan wicket of Suraj Randhiv who hit invaluable 43 runs, helping stretch the Sri Lankan total.

Earlier, Sri Lankan Captain Kumar Sangakkara had won the toss and elected to bat first.

Sri Lanka vs India, Tri-series - Scorecard

India have to win the match to stay in the competition after a humiliating 200 run loss against the Black Caps in the opening match. For the Sri Lankans, a win will surely put them in the finals of the competition.

Suraj Randhiv and Dilhara Fernando are replacing Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis for the home side.

For India, Virat Kholi is making his first presence in place of injured Yuvraj Singh and Ishant Sharma has replaced youngster Abhimanyu Mithun.

Sri Lanka Team

Upal Tharanga, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara (c), DPMD Jayawardene, TT Samaraweera, AD Mathews, CK Kapugedera, KMDN Kulasekara, Suraj Randhiv, SL Malinga, Dilhara Fernando

India Team

Dinesh Karthik, V Sehwag, RG Sharma, V Kohli, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (c), RA Jadeja, P Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Ashish Nehra, PP Ojha


Write Comments