English camp disappointed after ICC Award snub

Published: Thursday, August 19, 2010, 12:32 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

England camp upset over ICC Award snub

England cricket players are reportedly disappointed after being snubbed for the October 6 LG ICC Awards 2010.

Eight players from four teams have each been nominated in three different categories for the award but none from the English team was nominated for the awards which is scheduled to be held in Bangalore later this year.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag from India, Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lanka"s Mahela Jayawardena feature prominently in the long-list of awards. In addition, there are nine players who are nominated in two distinct categories.

Even off spinner Graeme Swann, the world No 3 Test bowler, missed out on one of 16 nominations, despite taking 93 international wickets," The Sun reports.

Ex-England skipper Mike Atherton said: “It"s an utter disgrace."

England wicketkeeper Matt Prior, who scored 84 not out at the Oval on Wednesday against Pakistan, said: “Swanny has bowled brilliantly. It has been obvious for everyone to see."

The award covers international matches from August 24 last year.

Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Ryan Harris and Mitchell Johnson join Watson and Bollinger on the Australian players list for player of the year.

Australian opener Simon Katich is up for Test player of the year, while Mike Hussey and Cameron White made the cut for one-day player of the year.

A five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC cricket committee Clive Lloyd made the lists of nominations.

The panel included former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher, also the former England coach.


Write Comments