Jayawardene records 1000 runs in Dambulla

Published: Friday, August 20, 2010, 14:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rain decides the match yet again

Dambulla: The fourth ODI between hosts Sri Lanka and New Zealand was yet again decided by the rain after three hours of cricket with both teams sharing two points each in Dambulla.

In the three hours of Sri Lankan batting, stylish Mahela Jayawardene had recorded 1000 runs in the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium and helped the hosts past 200 run mark along with  Chamara Silva at the other end before rain stopped play.

Sri Lanka had scored 203 for the loss of 3 wickets at 43.4 overs.

The duo added 72 runs unbeaten partnership to give a solid platform for the remaining overs to play.

New Zealand choosing to bowl first and looking to exploit the  overcast conditions did manage to keep it very tight in the middle overs after a terrific start by Sri Lankan opener Dilshan.

Scott Styris had got the important breakthrough for Black caps as he got rid off the dangerous Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Upal Tharanga was the first man to be dismissed off the bowling of Daryl Tuffey with a short delivery.

However, experienced duo of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene did manage to put up a fifty run partnership before Sangakkara was finally dismissed by Styris again, who got his second scalp of the innings.

Dilshan had earlier given the hosts an exquisite start before being dismissed by Styris. He had misjudged a delivery which kept low and was bowled after he scored 44 runs.

The openers had started off very cautiously as the ball was seaming a fair bit in the opening overs. But Dilshan slowly got into his grooves and started to dominate the proceedings with his marvelous stroke-play. He hit five continuous boundaries off the bowling of Kyle Mills.

Earlier, New Zealand captain Ross Taylor had won the toss and elected to bowl first against Sri Lanka in the fourth ODI of the tri-series in Dambulla.

A re-scheduled game today as rain washed away the whole day's play yesterday.

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand, Tri-series - Dambulla - Scorecard

The Sri Lankans came out the better of the two sides in the previous meeting in the second game of the Tri-series but the Black caps will be hoping to come back strongly against the hosts. Their side will be strengthened with the return of experienced all-rounder Jacob Orab who missed out the second match.

Suraj Randhiv who was involved in a controversial play against the Indians will be serving his one match suspension. Rangana Herath and Mendis will be leading the Sri Lankan spin attack.


Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (capt. & wk), Mahela Jayawardene,  Angelo Mathews, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

New Zealand: Peter Ingram, BJ Watling, Ross Taylor (capt.), Kane Williamson, Scott Styris, Jacob Oram, Grant Elliot, Gareth Hopkins (wk), Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Daryl Tuffey.


Write Comments