SL beat India comprehensively by 8-wickets

Published: Sunday, August 22, 2010, 14:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

SL win by 8 wkts, qualify for finals

Dambulla: Sri Lanka ousted India by a comprehensive 8-wicket win to qualify for the finals of the Micromax Cup in the fifth ODI of the Tri-series in Dambulla.

Chasing a target of 104, openers Dilshan and Jaywardene started off very positively before both of them were dismissed by Ishant Sharma in two successive deliveries. Captain Sangakkara and Upal Tharanga then guided the Islanders past the victory margin, making sure they lost no more wickets.

In the first innings, all-rounder Thissara Perera making a return in the Sri Lankan side had got his maiden five-wicket haul to restrict the Indians to a meager total of 103 allout. Thissara was handed over the man of the match trophy for his commendable performance.

Perera claimed his fifth wicket to knock Ishant Sharma out as Indian batting collapsed to a score of 103. He gave away just 28 runs to pick up 5 wickets in his spell.

The pacers starting with Kulasekara and then Mathews and Perera troubled the Indian batting line-up throughout the innings and managed to pick up wickets on a regular basis.

Nuwan Kulasekara had got rid off dangerous Virender Sehwag to give an early breakthrough and then followed it up with the wicket of Dinesh Karthick.

Sehwag was trapped lbw by Kulasekara who gave Sri Lanka their first breakthrough. Then soon Karthik followed him as he was rather unlucky, given caught behind by umpire Asad Rauf, though the replay showed that the player had not nicked the ball.

Rohit Sharma was dismissed off the bowling of Mathews for the second time in the series. And co-incidentally the dismissal was identical to the one in his last match, trapped lbw while trying to play across the stumps.

Suresh Raina was the next man to be dismissed as he was ruled out by umpire Kumar Dharmasena off the bowling of Mathews, though he had not nicked the ball, the umpire gave the decision rightaway. Raina was lucky an over earlier, as he was given not out by umpire Asad Rauf though he had clearly nicked the ball.

Skipper M.S Dhoni coming in at 6 was dismissed off the bowling off Perera who was exceptional, bowling in tandem with Angelo Mathews who chipped in with a wicket in the innings.

Dhoni was caught chasing a wide one of Perera only to edge it behind to Sangakkara, the wicket-keeper.

Ravindra Jadeja replacing Dhoni was out for a nine ball duck off the bowling of Perera caught by Upal Tharanga.

Praveen Kumar then was out the first ball as he tried to play a rather rash shot only to be caught at mid-off.

Captain Kumar Sangakkara then brought back Lasith Malinga seeing the opportunity to wrap up Indian tail and Malinga delivered to dismiss Ashish Nehra. A short delivery for the number 9 batsman as he just managed to glove it to the wicketkeeper, Sangakkara. Sangakkara claimed his 250th catch of his career.

Yuvraj Singh making a return to the Indian side after injury lay off hit a few blows and struggled hard to get some respectability for the Indian batting before being given out lbw off the bowling of Malinga. Umpire Asad Rauf adjudged him lbw, the the ball seemed to be missing off stump.

Sri Lanka vs India, Tri-series - Dambulla - Scorecard

Earlier, Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni had won the toss and elected to bat first against Sri Lanka in a crucial tie for the qualification for finals in the fifth ODI of Tri-series in Dambulla.

Its a must-win game for the hosts in order to stay in hunt for the finals. A loss will knock them out of the Tri-series. Their seems to be tensions arising within the Sri Lankan camp and they will be hoping to dust off all the controversies behind and produce a win against the Indians.

Suraj Randhiv is returning to the playing XI after serving a one match-suspension. Thesa Perera is also playing today for the first time in the tournament.

On the other side, Dhoni and his men will be hoping to keep it disciplined and not let any chance for Sri Lanka to run away with the match after a morale lifting win against the home team in their previous meet.

Yuvraj Singh is making a return in the playing XI in place of Virat Kholi.


Write Comments