Super Kings crush Wayamba by 97 runs

Published: Thursday, September 16, 2010, 10:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Super Kings crush Wayamba by 97 runs

Centurion: Chennai Super Kings crushed Wayamba Eleven by 97 runs in their Group A clash in the Airtel Champions League T20 at Centurion.

Being asked to bat first, the Chennai Super Kings scored a mammoth 200/3 with Suresh Raina scoring 87 off those runs and opener Murali Vijay scoring 69 runs.
They got off to a decent start before Hayden was dismissed. However, Raina and Vijay played some mind-blowing strokes to put on a solid second wicket stand of 137 runs to put the Super Kings side in a firm position.

Raina was scoring at a brisk pace throughout his innings and ended close to 200 per cent strike rate. His innings included six sixes and six boundaries. He hit four sixes off Mendis's one over, in the 17th over. Mendis who had been exceptional at the start of the innings was taken for 28 runs in that over. He had conceded just 17 runs in his first 3 overs before that assault by Raina.

Chasing a huge score, Wayamba got off to a worst possible start losing their opener in the very first over. And soon, they started losing wickets at regular
intervals and lost track of the game completely. Top six Wayamba batsman were already back in the pavilion in the first six overs.

Karunanayake did offer some resistance scoring 25 runs coming in at No 6 but he was dismissed by Muttiah Muralitharan. The Wayamba side were eventually bowled out for 103 runs at the start of 18th over.

Spinner R Ashwin was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets and conceding just 18 runs in his 4 overs. Morkel was the one who did early damage and he finished with 3 wickets in 3 overs conceding 22 runs.

Chennai Super Kings Vs WayambaScorecard

Chennai Super Kings innings(200 runs in 20overs) :M Vijay-68, ML Hayden-10, SK Raina-87, JA Morkel-9, MS Dhoni-10, Extras-16, Total-200

Wayamba(103 runs from 20 overs) :DPMD Jayawardene-10, HGJM Kulatunga-0, J Mubarak-7, MDKJ Perera-7, KS Lokuarachchi-6, KPSP Karunanayake-25, NLTC Perera-4, I Udana-13, HMRKB Herath-4, BAW Mendis-15, UWMBCA Welegedara-0, Extras-12, Total-103

Champions League T20 2010 | Fixtures | Points Table | Groups


Write Comments