Tendulkar, Sehwag in contention for ICC Awards

Published: Wednesday, October 6, 2010, 10:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Tendulkar, Sehwag for ICC Awards

Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag is in contention for top awards in the ICC Annual awards to be presented on Wednesday.

Tendulkar has been nominated in the Test player of the Year, Cricketer of the Year and People's Choice awards while Sehwag has been nominated for the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year.

The ceremony is scheduled to be held in Bangalore's Grand Castle. The ICC awards will be based on performances of the nominated players on the period between August 2009 and 2010.

The player awards are judged by a 25-person voting academy, which is entirely independent of the ICC. The process is monitored by independent auditors Ernst and Young.

In the Test player of the year category Amla, Sehwag and Tendulkar face competition from South African paceman Dale Steyn, while the one-day player of the year will be contested by Tendulkar, Proteas batsman AB de Villiers and Australian pair Ryan Harris and Shane Watson.

South African player De Villiers is set to wear his musical hat and stage a performance with his singing partner Ampie du Preez during the ceremony.


Write Comments