Nitschke named Women's Cricketer of the Year

Published: Thursday, October 7, 2010, 11:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Nitschke bags top ICC award

Australia all-rounder Shelley Nitschke was handed over the Women"s Cricketer of the Year Award at the LG ICC Awards ceremony in Bangalore.

During the voting period Nitschke played eight ODIs for Australia scoring 342 runs at the top of the order at an average of 57, while the spinner also claimed 12 wickets. She also played in ten Twenty20 Internationals amassing 265 runs and 10 wickets.

The 33-year-old took the award ahead of team-mate Ellyse Perry, West Indies" Stafanie Taylor and England"s Katherine Brunt.

Nitschke has been part of the Australian Womens team that won the ICC Women's World T20 in the West Indies.

The award was handed over by Michael Hussey in Bangalore. Nitschke said, “2010 has been fantastic and to cap the year off with winning the ICC Women"s Cricketer of the Year is brilliant.

“A huge part of increasing people"s following of our has been our playing double-header matches with the men"s sides and to be playing Twenty20 cricket on a global stage has also helped us immensely."

The Women"s Cricketer of the Year Award was one of nine individual prizes given at this year"s LG ICC Awards.

The nominations for the Women"s Cricketer of the Year were decided after a committee of former players, current administrators and journalists created a long-list. This in turn was broken down into a short-list by a separate 25-person voting academy.

Based on the period between 24 August 2009 and 10 August 2010, the LG ICC Awards 2010 – presented in association with FICA – take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.


Write Comments