Tendulkar named Cricketer of the year

Published: Thursday, October 7, 2010, 11:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sachin bags ICC's top honor

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar was named Cricketer of the year at the Annual ICC Awards Ceremony held at Bangalore on Wednesday. Along with this he was also awarded with the People's Choice Award.

Tendulkar who made his International Debut as a 16 year old teenager against Pakistan in 1989 has a marathon career spanning over two decades.

Sachin won the prestigious award for the very first time and was delighted for the same.

"It's better late than never. I am getting the award in the 21st year of my career, so it's fantastic. I have been working hard for this award," Tendulkar said expressing his feelings after receiving the award.

Virender Sehwag was awarded with the Test Cricketer of the year for his 1,282 runs at an tremendous average of 85.46 in 10 Test matches during the 12 month voting period, while AB de Villiers (SA) won the ICC ODI player of the year award who has 855 runs to his credit at an breathtaking strike rate of 103.38 runs per 100 balls.

Steven Finn (Eng) was named the emerging player of the year, the youngster had impressive performances with the ball claiming 27 wickets at an average of 21.85 during the voting period .

Brendon McCullum's unbeaten 116 against Australia in an T20 International won him the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year award.

Indian Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named the captain for the ICC Test team of the year whereas the ODI team Captaincy was bestowed upon the Australian Captain Ricky Ponting.

Team India won the Test Team of the year and the ODI team of the year was awarded to Australia for their respective performances during the voting period.

Pakistani Umpire, Aleem Dar was awarded the David Shepherd Trophy for being named the Umpire of the Year for the second year in succession.

Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner, Rachael Heyhoe Flint and Bishan Bedi were inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame by ICC and the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) in the glittering awards ceremony.


Write Comments