A revival of Indo-Kiwi rivalry

Published: Saturday, October 30, 2010, 15:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

A revival of Indo-Kiwi rivalry

The rivalry between India and New Zealand has been legendary. It has seen the best players from both sides pitted against each other, from the grace and charisma of Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Ravi Shastri to the fiery professionalism of Sir Richard Hadlee, John Wright and Martin Crowe. The Kiwis would always prepare speedy, grassy wickets which the Indians would have a tough time contending with. As a result, India has notched up just a lone victory against the New Zealand as long ago as 1968.

India for its part, has furnished spinner's wickets to befuddle and unsettle the Kiwi bastmen while the visiting swing bowlers would get no purchase and fail to take 20 wickets to win a test match. All in all, New Zealand have won only two test matches from the 29 played in India and have failed to ever win a series on Indian soil.

Now coming into the 2010 series against India beginning on Nov 4th, New Zealand's confidence will no doubt be flagging, especially after the 0-4 drubbing they received at the hands of the Bangladeshis earlier this month. India, on the other hand, are in good form riding on their successes in the tests and one-day series against Australia.

India and New Zealand have played 47 tests upto today and India leads 15-9 over kiwis with 23 draws. There have been 16 test series between India and New Zealand until the 2009 India tour of New Zealand starts. From 16 test series, 9 have been played in India, 7 in New Zealand. India have won 1 test series in New Zealand (the very first one they played, way back in 1968), whereas Kiwis has never resisted a test series win in India. In total, India have won 8 test series against New Zealand, with New Zealand winning 4 and remaining 4 resulting in draw.


Write Comments