Sachin Tendulkar wins Cricketer of the Year award

Published: Monday, November 1, 2010, 12:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Capping a splendid season in which he scored the first-ever double century in ODIs and crossed 14,000 runs in Test cricket, iconic batsman Sachin Tendulkar was on Saturday named the Indian Cricketer of the Year at the second Sahara India Sports Awards function here.

Tendulkar scored 1,064 runs, from August, 2009, to September, 2010, in 10 Tests with six centuries and three fifties. In 17 ODIs, he scored 914 runs with three hundreds, including a world record 200 not out against South Africa at Gwalior on February 24 this year and two fifties during the period under consideration.

The Best Woman Cricketer of the Year award was bagged by former national captain Mithali Raj.

Rifle shooter Gagan Narang, who picked up four gold medals in the Commonwealth Games in Delhi earlier this month, and young Jamshedpur-based woman archer Deepika Kumari, who bagged two gold medals in the Games, were declared winners of the best male and female athletes in the multi-sport extravaganza. These were two special awards for performances outside the period under consideration.

Dion Global Solutions Ltd

Write Comments