Jayasuriya, Vaas in preliminary WC squad

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, December 14, 2010, 11:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Jayasuriya, Vaas in preliminary WC squad

Some cricket enthusiasts might think that Sri Lankan veteran cricketers Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas are over the hill. But the Sri Lankan cricket board has decided to rely partly on vintage experience for the upcoming World Cup in the subcontinent. The two have been named in the 30-member preliminary squad for the big event. Fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep is the only uncapped player to be included in the group which will eventually to be cut down to 15.

Jayasuriya has rarely been on the one-day scene in recent tiimes and put on just 15 runs in six outing during the 2010 World Twenty20 in the West Indies. The two-match T20 series against West Indies which followed that tournament was his last international engagement. Vaas has been out of the national side since July 2009 and last played a one-dayer in Aug 2008. But perhaps considering that both of them were part of Sri Lanka's World Cup winning team in 1996, they have been deemed useful to the side.

All 14 teams taking part in the tournament have to announce their preliminary squads by Dec 19, and home in on the final fifteen before Jan 19, 2011.

SL preliminary squad: Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Tharanga Paranavitana, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Jeevan Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dilhara Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Dammika Prasad, Chaminda Vaas, Chanaka Welegedara, Nuwan Pradeep, Thilan Thushara


Write Comments