Television series to show WC history

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, December 29, 2010, 14:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Television series to show WC history

The glowing theme of the ICC Cricket World Cup has become the subject of a definitive and exciting new television series.

The programmes produced by ESPN STAR Sports, replays the years of the event's rich history through stories told by the players who experienced the highs and lows in the tournaments. This audio-visual account beautifully captures the precious moments that defy time.

They feature extensive interviews with all seven ICC CWC-winning captains - Clive Lloyd, Kapil Dev, Allan Border, Imran Khan, Arjuna Ranatunga, Stephen Waugh and Ricky Ponting.

And they also include the views of some other pivotal figures from each tournament, including Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Warne, Ian Botham, Mike Gatting, Wasim Akram, Sanath Jayasuriya, Martin Crowe and Brett Lee.

Each of the nine previous tournaments are recalled and analysed, and the seven victorious captains also have a programme devoted to their own personal recollections of achieving the ultimate honour in the game - lifting the ICC Cricket World Cup.

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup is cricket's flagship tournament - it's The Cup That Counts - so we are delighted that, for the first time, a definitive series of programmes charting its history has been produced.

Manu Sawhney, ESPN STAR Sports Managing Director, said: "As the global production and broadcast rights holder for ICC events, this documentary was produced to highlight the proud history and traditions of the Cricket World Cup in perspective to the upcoming blockbuster event next February, and we hope that cricket fans will enjoy every minute of it."

In total, there are 12 programmes - two devoted to an overall history of the ICC CWC, a further nine on each edition of the tournament (1975, 1979, 1983, 1987, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007) and one in which the captains provide their memories of what it took to lift cricket's greatest prize.


Write Comments