IPL teams sign up uncapped players

Posted by:
Published: Friday, January 14, 2011, 11:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL teams sign up uncapped players

With the IPL player auction out of the way, the uncapped players are up for grabs as the various IPL teams look to bolster up their sides with the cream of the crop. Accordingly, Mumbai left arm spinner Iqbal Abdulla has been picked up by the Kolkata Knightriders which has a signed a two-year deal with him.

Abdulla was at Kolkata for the first three seasons, having been picked as their Under-19 draft in the first season, and now returns as an uncapped signing. "We needed a specialist Indian spinner to accompany Shakib [al Hasan] and Yusuf Pathan and we are happy to get Iqbal," a Kolkata spokesperson said.

Abdulla had a stellar Ranji season with Mumbai this year, finishing as their top wicket-taker with 27 victims at an average of 22.11 in addition to notching up his maiden Ranji century against Saurashtra in their opening match

Meanwhile, KKR are in talks with Bengal allrounder Laxmi Shukla, Haryana wicketkeeper-batsman Manvinder Bisla and Delhi middle-order veteran Rajat Bhatia among a dozen other players for a place in their side.

.Teams have until March 8 to sign up uncapped players, but have been eager to start the process straight away lest they lose some of their prosects to other teams.

Kings XI Punjab have been fortunate to get back three players who were part of their squad in past seasons. These are Punjab allrounder Love Ablish, Himachal Pradesh fast bowler Vikramjeet Malik and Uttar Pradesh left-arm quick Shalabh Srivastava, who will remain in the side for the next two years. The franchise has also signed Sunny Singh and Nitin Saini, centurions for Haryana in the Ranji quarterfinals this year against Tamil Nadu, along with 23-year-old batsman Siddharth Chitnis, who made his first-class debut for Mumbai this year.

Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals have picked some prize catches from their corresponding Ranji team in. These are pace bowler Deepak Chahar, left-handed batsman Ashok Maneria and his fellow batsmen Aakash Chopra and Dishant Yagnik.


Read more about: ipl, ipl4, uncapped players, teams
Write Comments