Sarwan, Andre Russell in Windies WC XV

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, January 20, 2011, 9:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sarwan, Andre Russell in Windies WC XV

He may have been left out of West Indies rain-hampered tour of Sri Lanka in Dec, but Ramnaresh Sarwan has broken back itno the international fold. Indeed, after last representing the West Indies in the disastrous hoe ODI series against South Africa in May-June last year, Sarwan has been included in the West Indies 15-member squad for the World Cup. He was reportedly oput of the side due to fitness problems and indifferent form in the domestic circuit.

The World Cup team will be led by Darren Sammy and also includes fast-bowling allrounder Andre Russell, who is yet to make his ODI debut.

Sammy took over the captaincy from Chris Gayle last year. Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard, three players who turned down contracts with the West Indies Cricket Board, all feature in the squad following their participation in the WICB one-day tournament last year.

Nikita Miller and Sulieman Benn are the two specialist spinners, both left-arm orthodox, while Russell, Kemar Roach and Ravi Rampaul comprise the pace options. Carlton Baugh was chosen over Denesh Ramdin as wicketkeeper. Baugh has not played an ODI for West Indies since November 2008, but impressed with a fifty in the second Test in Sri Lanka.

Sarwan hasn't played Tests in over a year, and was not offered a WICB contract last year. In the WICB one-day tournament, he averaged 21.33 in three games with one-half-century for Guyana and his team was knocked out in the league stage. But he has a spectacular ODI record in India, where West Indies play five of their six group games. He has played 15 matches there with an average of 57.30 and five half-centuries.

The West Indies play three ODIs in Sri Lanka - a series rescheduled after the one-day leg of the December 2010 series was scrapped due to incessant rain.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith, Sulieman Benn, Nikita Miller, Carlton Baugh (wk), Andre Rusell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Adrian Barath.


Write Comments