Laxman, Steyn, Sachin, Gul win ESPNCricinfo Awards

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, February 15, 2011, 9:59 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Laxman,Steyn win top ESPNCricinfo awards

With 2010 in review, ESPN-Cricinfo awards were handed out to the best players in individual performances across the three cricketing formats.

Indian middle-order stalwart VVS Laxman received an accolade for his 96 on a seaming Durban wicket on Inida's tour of South Afrrica 2010-11, while Dale Steyn was awarded for his phenomenal 7/51 against India at Nagpur in Feb last year in Indian home sries against the Proteas. These were the top awards given out to players coming out tops on away tours.

Meanwhile, Sachin Tendulkar was felicitated for his remarkable 200 not out, the highest individual score in ODIs ever, in Feb last year at Gwalior, propelling India to a series win against the South Africans. It was an innings which Kepler Wessels of the ESPN-Cricinfo awards jury, termed the "perfect one-day innings". This is the second consecutive year for which Tendulkar has ensnared the same award, after his 175, albeit in a losing cause against the Aussies in 2009.

Pakistan's Umar Gul picked up the ODI bowling prize for his career best of 6/42 which led to England's undoing in their chase of 242 at the Oval in Sep last year.

In Twenty20, Tim Southee's five-wicket haul against Pakistan (in Dec 2010), including a hat-trick was the overwhelming favourite choice for the corresponding award. Michael Hussey's "freak" of a 60 in the World Twenty20 semi-final beat Brendon McCullum's century, only the second in Twenty20 internationals, to the batting prize.

Besides Wessels, the jury included former internationals Rameez Raja, Ian Chappell, Tony Greig, Geoff Boycott, Sanjay Manjrekar and Martin Crowe, and ESPNcricinfo's senior editors. The jurors picked their top three performances in each category out of shortlists compiled by the site's editorial staff. Each performance ranked No. 1 got five points, while Nos. 2 and 3 got three points and one respectively.

Oneindia Cricket

Write Comments