India vs Sri Lanka: Jayawardene takes SL to 274

Published: Saturday, April 2, 2011, 19:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, April 2: Riding on a superb century from Mahela Jaywardene, Sri Lanka recovered from early setbacks to set India a target of 275 runs to win the final match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Here is how it happened: [Scorecard], [Ball by Ball], [Commentary], [Gallery]

India needs 275 to lift the World Cup

Sri Lanka's cautious start

Sri Lanka's innings got off to a circumspect start. Indian speedster Zaheer Khan bowled a tight first over, with just two byes coming off it. Then Zaheer's new-ball partner S Sreesanth, leaked 5 runs in the second over including a no-ball.

The third over saw Zaheer bowl a maiden as Lankan openers Tillakaratne Dilshan and Upul Tharanga were content to just fend the deliveries to the infield. Two runs came off Sreesnath in the fourth over as Sri Lanka had crawled to 9/0 in 4 overs. Zaheer then came up with another maiden as India had pegged the Lankans on the back foot from early on.

Tharanga departs

In the next over, Sreesanth got smacked away by Dilshan for two fours. But first ball the following over, Zaheer struck to remove Tharanga when he had him caught behind for 2. Sri Lanka were 17/1 in 6.1 overs. The new batsman was captain Kumar Sangakkara and Munaf Patel joined the attack in the 7th over. 5 runs came off that over and 4 off Zaheer in the 9th as Sri Lanka had moved to 28/1. Taking 3 runs of the 10th over, Lanka were 31/1.

Sanga and Dilshan rebuild

In the 12th over, Sangakkara played a beautiful cover drive off Munaf for four as Lanka climbed to 39/1 in 12 overs. Then Sanga smashed Sreesanth for two back-to-back boundaries in the next over, one over the top and one a straight drive down the ground, before Dilshan edged him for a third man boundary. Sri Lanka had moved to 54/1 in 13 overs.

Bhajji sends back Dilshan

Harbhajan Singh came into the bowl the 17th over after a confident previous over. He tossed up the ball, getting turn and bounce to bowl Dilshan around his legs as Sri Lankan slipped to 60/2 in 16.3 overs. Jayawardene was the new man at the crease. Then Sanga and Jayawardene teamed up to each take a four of Bhajji in the 19th over. Yuvraj joined the attack in the 22nd over as Jayawardene straight away carted him away for a boundary as SL moved onto 93/2. At the end of 25 overs, Sri Lanka has scaled to 105/2.

Sangakkara departs

In the 28th over, Yuvraj bowled a short and wide ball which was just asking to be hit, but Sangakkara only managed to edge it into the gloves of Dhoni. The batsman was on his way for 48 off 67 balls as Sri Lanka had slid to 122/3 in 27.5 overs.

Samaraweera survives, Mahela reaches 50

Thilan Samaraweera came to the crease with his side in a smattering of trouble and settled in with a four of Sreesanth and then off Yuvraj as the Lankans climbed to 132/3 in 30 overs. The same batsman had a close shave when he Yuvraj and Dhoni appealed for a review against him for a caught behind. But the replays were inconclusive and Samaraweera survived. Then Jayawardene paddled Yuvraj fine for a boundary to bring up Sri Lanka's 150 in the 34th over and then later in the over, notched up his 50 off 49 balls.

Lankans pegged back

With the Lankan batting duo coasting along, Yuvraj got Dhoni to successfully appeal for a review against Samaraweera for lbw and the batsman was on his way for 21 as Sri Lanka's score now read 178/4 in 38.1 overs. Then just four runs and 1 over later, Zaheer got Kapugedara caught at short cover for 1 as the visitors slid to 182/5. Jayawardene and Kulasekara took Lanka past 200 in the 44th over and two stepped on the gas. The batting duo each knocked a four off Munaf in the 47th over. Then Kulasekara clobbered Zaheer for a six and then Jayawardene got the bowler away for a four and then another as he brought up his century.

Sri Lanka cross 200

New batsman Nuwan Kulasekara and Jayawardene pushed aggressively for singles and took Lanka past 200 in the 44th over after which, Jayawardene capitalised on some poor fielding to pull off a boundary hit. Then Kulasekara and Jayawadene stepped on the gas, knocking several boundaries and even a six between them as Lanka. Kulasekara was run out in the 48th over for 32 off 30, before Sri Lanka brought up their 250 in the 49th over. Then a mind-boggling late surge from Thisara Perera took the visitors to 274/6 in 50 overs.

Indian Playing XI: M S Dhoni(C)(WK), Sachin Tendulkar, Virendra Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth, Munaf Patel

Sri Lanka Playing XI: Kumar Sangakkara (C)(Wk), Tilakratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, S Randiv, NLTC Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara

OneIndia Cricket

Write Comments