CSK overcome KKR in nail-biter

Published: Saturday, April 9, 2011, 13:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

CSK overcome KKR in nail-biter

In response, KKR was cruising at 93/1 in 12.4 overs before they slid to 120/5 in 16.5 overs with the spinners Jakati, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin and Suraj Randiv each taking a wicket along with paceman Tim Southee, who bowled a tense final over. Jacques Kallis kept the flame alive for KKR during his 54 off 42 balls, but in the end it was not enough.

Kolkata Knightriders' reply to CSK's 153/4 was robust at the start. Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis each struck a four off Albie Morkel in the first over. The after a quiet second over from Tim Southee, ace off-spinner R Ashwin went for 11 runs in the 3rd over, including giving away 5 wides. Then Kallis got stuck into Southee knocking three fours off him as KKR raced to 39/0 in 4 overs and 52/0 in 6 overs. At this stage in the match, Jakati came onto bowl and was proving effective, so much so, he got Bisla stumped by Dhoni in the 9th over. The batsman was on his way for 27 off 29 balls and KKR were 64/1 after 8.5 overs.

While, the new batsman Yusuf Pathan settled in, Kallis struck two fours off Morkel. Then the batting pair neutered the Jakati threat by striking a six and four off him in the 11th over to race to 88/1. Spinners Ashwin and Suraj Randiv pulled back the scoring rate a tad. A couple of overs later, Dhoni and Co. unsuccessfully referred an lbw apppeal against Pathan, but just two balls later, he was run out and KKR had slipped to 95/2 in 12.5 overs.

At the start of the 14th over, Kallis ran a single off Jakati to bring up his 50 off just 37 balls. Then a couple of overs later, Ashwin had Kallis caught by Badrinath at short fine leg and KKR were inb a spot of bother. Then in the 17th over, off-break Suresh Raina had Eoin Morgan stumped for 6 off 6 balls and the visitors had slid to 119/4 in 16.3 overs. KKR had clearly pressed the panic button with Gautam Gambhir running himself out for 1 off 2 balls. At the end of the 17th over, the visitors still needed 33 runs off 18 balls. Two inexperienced batsman in Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Manoj Tiwary were at the crease.

But the batting pair was equal to the task, hitting three fours and two sixes between them before Tiwary was stumped off Randiv for 27 off 15 balls. With KKR needing 9 runs off the last over, Shukla ran a double before perishing to Southee. Then Iqbal Abdulla ran two

Winning the toss and opting to bat first, the Chennai Superkings got off to an unsteady start. In the first over itself, Murali Vijay smacked a four off Iqbal Abdulla to perish in the next ball. CSK were 5/1 in 1 over when Suresh Raina joined forces with Anirudha Srikkanth to steady the innings. Raina hit a four off Yusuf Pathan in the 2nd over before Srikkanth got into the act, helping himself to boundaries off Abdulla and Pathan.

The latter bolwer then dropped a return catch off the batsman when he was on 11 before he let Raina off the hook by spilling a chance off Laxmipathy Balaji in the 5th over. Srikkanth then hammered Jacques Kallis for three fours in the 6th over. He and Raina teamed up to knock a four and six off Sarabjeet Ladda in the 7th over as CSK climbed to 57/1.

In the 11th over Eoin Morgan joined the bandwagon off butter-fingered fielders when he dropped Srikkanth off Pathan, but in the next ball, the off-spinner had Raina caught by Ladda in the deep for 33 off 29 balls. The hosts were 80/2 in 10.3 overs. With captain M S Dhoni for company, Srikkanth kept motoring along and raced to his 50 off 43 balls in the 15th over. Then the batting duo teamed up to strike Ladda for two huge sixes as the CSK scaled to 121/2 in 16 overs.

However, Kallis came to the fore, removing Dhoni for 29 off 21 balls in the 18th over before dismissing Srikkanth for 64 off 55 balls in the final over. But Albie Morkel and Scott Styris ensured that their side finished off the innings with a flourish, hitting two fours and six between them as CSK wound up at 153/4 in 20 overs.

OneIndia Cricket

Write Comments