North Zone beat South Zone in a thriller T20

Published: Friday, June 3, 2011, 0:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

N Zone beat S Zone in a thriller T20

Pune, June 2: In an exciting last-ball finish, North Zone beat defending champions South Zone by five wickets on the opening day of the Sports Journalists' Federation of India's JK Bose Twenty20 inter-zonal cricket tournament at the PYC Hindu Gymkhana here today.

In a high-scoring match, North successfully chased down South's 180 for seven.

For North, Siddarth Sharma top scored with 70, while Jasvinder Sidhu and GS Vivek chipped in with 38 and 25, respectively.

Earlier, South Zone rode on Abhishek Badkar's 74 and Tanveer''s 38 to set a competitive total.

In another match at the Deccan Gymkhana ground, West Zone got the better of East Zone by seven wickets.

In the morning, the former India captain Chandu Borde inaugurated the tournament and presented the SJFI caps to each of the team captains -- Satish Viswanathan (South), GS Vivek (North), Dipankar Guha (East) and Sudheendra Tripathi (West).

Brief scores:

At PYC Hindu Gymkhana:

South Zone: 180 for 7 in 20 overs (Tanveer 38, Abhishek Badkar 74, Mallikacharan Wadi 26; Rakesh Thapliyal 2-36, Amit Chaudhari 2-31).

North Zone: 183 for 5 in 20 overs (Siddarth Sharma 70, Jasvinder Sidhu 38, GS Vivek 25; Mallikacharan Wadi 2-26).

Man of the match: Siddarth Sharma.

At Deccan Gymkhana:

East Zone: 74 all out in 18 overs (Tauhid Ali Talukdar 23; Eteram Ali 3-11, Taus Rizvi 2-6).

West Zone: 77 for 3 in 9 overs (Ripple Christie 33 not out, Subodh Barua 3-33).

Man of the match: Ripple Christie.


Read more about: north zone, south zone, jk bose, t20
Write Comments