हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

Dhoni was given "out" due to wrong replay, confirms ICC

Published: Friday, July 1, 2011, 0:00 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

ICC confirms wrong replay for MSD 'out'

Dubai, Jul 1: The ICC on Jun 30 confirmed that an error by the host broadcaster during first day's play in the second Test between the West Indies and India in Barbados led to the wrong replay being shown to the third umpire that led to Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni's dismissal.

During India's innings, India captain Dhoni was out caught at mid-on off the bowling of Fidel Edwards. On-field umpire Ian Gould suspected that the delivery may have been a no-ball so, as per the correct protocols, he sought confirmation from the third umpire, Gregory Brathwaite.

But the delivery Brathwaite was shown by the host broadcaster was legitimate and hence, Dhoni was given out.

However, it was subsequently established that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery that led to Dhoni's dismissal should indeed have been called a no-ball. "The host broadcaster for this series, IMG Media, acknowledged the mistake and has apologised. Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment," said Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees.

"It is worth pointing out that the umpires followed the correct procedures and are without blame in this matter. Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision. We are forced now put it behind us and move on with the remainder of the match," he added.

PTI

Write Comments