Sachin, Sehwag in all-time top Test-players' list

Published: Tuesday, July 12, 2011, 11:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sachin, Sehwag in all-time Test list

Dubai, July 12: Indian batting genius Sachin Tendulkar and dashing opener Virender Sehwag find themselves in a list of players nominated for an online poll to select the greatest team of all-time to mark Test cricket's imminent 2,000th match.

The historic encounter is set to take place between India and England at Lord's from July 21 to 25, and the ICC have requested fans from across the globe to select the greatest team of all-time.

While Sehwag has been short-listed for the slot of opener along with Sunil Gavaskar, Tendulkar has been picked for the middle-order batsman's slot.

However, no Indian player has found a place in the shortlist for the role of wicketkeepers and fast bowlers, but the 1983 World Cup winning Indian team captain Kapil Dev is in the fray for an all-rounder.

Classic spinners Bishan Singh Bedi and Anil Kumble have brokem into the list for the spinner's role in the dream team.

Sir Donald Bradman and West Indian great Viv Richards are in the reckoning for the middle-order's slot, while fierce wicketkeeper batsman Adam Gilchrist is against South Africa's Mark Boucher for the gloveman's position.

Legendary West Indian pacers Malcolm Marshall and Michael Holding and Pakistani great Wasim Akram have been shortlisted in the pace-bowler's category along with champion spinner Shane Warne.

The ICC's website is soliciting votes from the fans and cricket lovers across the world to choose the dream Test team from a shortlist of 60 players split into five categories.

Supporters will be asked to pick two opening batsmen, three middle-order batsmen, a wicketkeeper, three fast bowlers and one spinner.

The public vote on ICC's website closes in two days' time with results set to be announced the week before the 2,000th Test.

Oneindia Cricket

Write Comments