4 Indians named in All Time Test XI

Published: Tuesday, July 19, 2011, 10:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

4 Indians named in All Time Test XI

Dubai, July 19: The public has spoken: current Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag as well as former players Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar have been named in the Great All Time Test XI chosen in an online poll.

Sehwag and Gavaskar took both the openers' slots. They beat competition from the likes of Geoffrey Boycott, Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Hanif Mohammad and Herbert Sutcliffe.

Two West Indians, one Pakistani and four Aussies also made it to Peoples' Dream XI as more than 250,000 people voted on ICC's official website as part of the lead-in to the England-India Test match at Lord's to celebrate the 2000th cricket Test.

Tendulkar secured the no. 4 batting spot, one slot down Australian legend Don Bradman and one above West Indian Brian Lara, who was chosen at number five. The three beat the likes of Greg Chappell, Wally Hammond, George Headley, Javed Miandad, Graeme Pollock, Ricky Ponting and Vivian Richards.

Kapil was chosen as the only all-rounder ahead of the likes of Ian Botham, Richard Hadlee, Jacques Kallis, Imran Khan, Gary Sobers and Frank Worrell.

Australian Adam Gilchrist made it into the team as wicket-keeper by beating the likes of Mark Boucher, Jeff Dujon and Rod Marsh while Shane Warne got the approval of online voters, beating out India's Bishen Bedi and Anil Kumble and Sri Lankan Muttiah Muralitharan.

Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose and Glenn McGrath were named in the three fast bowlers' slots. The likes of Michael Holding, Dennis Lillee, Malcolm Marshall and Courtney Walsh missed out.

Oneindia Cricket

Write Comments