Ton-up Ian Bell, coming or going?

Updated: Monday, November 5, 2012, 16:43 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Trent Bridge: English batsman Ian Bell seemed to be in a hurry on Day 3 - not only reaching his century in relatively quick time, but also running off for tea without grounding his bat at the crease! This baffling indiscretion it was that cost him his wicket... momentarily. India captain M S Dhoni and Co. then graciously had the decision overturned and reinstated Bell, who was on 137 at the time, on the 22 yards.

Although technically, India were well within their rights to appeal for the batsman's dismissal, the visitors decided to reverse their call in the spirit of the game. After all, there was apparent confusion with the delivery in question - the last ball of the 66th over when Praveen Kumar attempted to foil a cut shot by Eoin Morgan at the deep point boundary and succeeded in doing so, while thinking he hadn't!

His ensuing body-language confused Bell, who thought the fielder had conceded the four and that the ball was dead. However, in the few seconds that followed, Praveen returned the ball to Abhinav Mukund who promptly took the bails off at Bell's end which the batsman had vacated.

During tea, the umpires consulted Dhoni about the appeal and the Indian skipper in turn, sought the stance of his team, which unanimously decided in favour of Bell being recalled. India might very well be on the brink of losing the Test and their No. 1 position, but they have at least won over the crowd at Nottingham...

Oneindia Cricket

Story first published:  Monday, August 1, 2011, 9:46 [IST]
Write Comments