Dubai, Aug 11: It's not just male cricketers that get pulled up for a faulty bowling action. India women's cricket medium pacer Snehal Pradhan has also been identified as bowling with an illegitimate bent elbow.
The seamer has now been officially suspended from bowling in international cricket by the ICC after an independent test discovered that her action is indeed illegal.
The 25-year-old distraught pacewoman will now have to undergo corrective work and subsequent examinations in order to resume her bowling career.
A thorough analysis revealed that the amount of elbow extension in Pradhan's bowling action for all her deliveries exceeded the 15-degree level of lee-way, allowed under the relevant regulations.
Pradhan had been reported by the on-field umpires Jeff Evans and Graham Lloyd after the completion of an ODI between England and India on June 30 at the Country Ground in Derby.
Though a fledgling cricketer at the global level, Snehal has impressed fairly well in the 6 ODIs she has appeared in, taking 5 wickets at an average of 27.40 and a best of 3/21. We wish her a speedy... adaptability.