Zaheer Khan up for three ICC awards

Published: Thursday, August 11, 2011, 10:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Zaheer Khan up for three ICC awards

Dubai, Aug 11: He may be cooling his heels and nursing a gammy hamstring, consequently missing out on four months of international cricket. But the left-arm Indian pacer is not missing out on a series of LG ICC award nominations, the ceremony of which will be held on Sep 12.

In the generous list of nominees, Zaheer has made the cut for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award, for Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as well as the Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year.

Zak's team-mates in Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni -- have all been nominated in two categories each.

Apart from Zaheer, five other cricketers, which include the English duo of Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann, South Africa's AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla and Australia's Shane Watson, also figure in three varying categories.

Meanwhile, even though their batting is taking a beating in the ongoing Test series in England, Tendulkar and Dravid also feature in the list of nominees for the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year award, while Dhoni has been nominated for ODI Player of the Year and LG People's Choice Award.

Other Indian cricketers to have been nominated for this year's ICC awards are Ishant Sharma (Test Player of the Year), Harbhajan Singh (Test Player of the Year), Gautam Gambhir (ODI Player of the Year), Virat Kohli (ODI Player of the Year), Munaf Patel (ODI Player of the Year), Virender Sehwag (ODI Player of the Year), Yuvraj Singh (ODI Player of the Year), Jhulan Goswami ( Women's Cricketer of the Year), Poonam Raut (Women's Cricketer of the Year) and Abhinav Mukund ( Emerging Player of the Year).


Write Comments