PCB chairman unhappy with ICC ODI team of the year

Published: Thursday, September 15, 2011, 16:37 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Butt upset with ICC over ODI team

Karachi, Sep 15: Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Ijaz Butt has yet again hit the headlines for wrong reasons after he expressed his displeasure over the ICC ODI team of the year in which only one Pakistani player, Umar Gul found a place.

According to a report in the 'Express' daily newspaper, Butt was so upset with the composition of ICC ODI team of the year announced during ICC Annual Awards function in London on Tuesday, that he directly pointed fingers on former West Indian captain Clive Lloyd, the chairman of the jury that finalised the side.

"Butt waited for the media talk of Lloyd to start to discuss the announcement of the ICC ODI team and as soon as the conference started he raised his arm and said he wanted to ask a question as well," the report said.

The report said that addressing Lloyd directly, Butt said that he was disappointed to see only one Pakistani cricketer finding a place in the team whereas other players from the nation had also done well in ODIs and should have been considered.

"Lloyd explained that number of deserving performers were not in the team because the jury while selecting the team had to focus on the balance of the side and could not afford to have a plethora of slow or pace bowlers," the report said.

Sources said Butt was visibly upset with the omissions of off-spinner Saeed Ajmal and batsman Misbah-ul-Haq, whom he felt had done enough to win spots in the ICC ODI team of the year, which otherwise included four Indians and three Sri Lankans.

Butt, a former Test cricketer, has been know to adopt unorthodox methods to express his displeasure over ICC decisions in the past.

Apart from the selection of Umar Gul, who was rested for the Zimbabwe tour, and the success of umpire Aleem Dar, who won the ICC Umpire of the year award for the third successive year, no other Pakistani got any notable honour at the ICC awards.

The jury overlooked Wahab Riaz and Azhar Ali for the emerging player of the year award and awarded it to West Indian leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo.


Read more about: odi series, icc, pcb, ijaz butt, pakistan
Write Comments